Ashton, Idaho

Six days and nearly 300 miles after Butte, I’ve finally left Montana! I’ve loved the state, but it did seem to go on forever – Canada seems a long way away. I’m in Ashton now, a small town that seems like something out of a 1950’s movie. One endless Main Street and a scattering of houses and businesses, with a railway siding and huge grain silos in the centre. It was just a few hours ago that I really felt I left Montana and its mountains and forests. i climbed out of a wooded canyon and I was suddenly riding through wide open fields of wheat, with the unmistakeable Grand Teton Mountains in the distance.

I’ve been through some stunningly beautiful country the last few days, from the wide open spaces of southern Montana to the edge of yellowstone. The riding has been easier, or maybe I’m just a bit stronger. But whatever the reason, after so many days on the saddle I am due a rest day, and this is the only town for many miles. So right now Im waiting for some Mexican food in a little cafe full of local agriculture workers. Smells great. Hopefully I’ll be able to post some pictures from the library tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

